CPF – Vanderbilt Dept of Pediatrics Research Committee

CPF – Vanderbilt Dept of Pediatrics Research Committee

CPF and Vanderbilt University Medical Center’s Department of Pediatrics have partnered to create a joint Research Committee that reviews and develops research studies for implementation in the community practice and VUMC clinic setting. The Research Committee also provides feedback and direction to projects in development with the goal of carrying out research that improves the healthcare of children in the middle Tennessee region, with a focus on improving effectiveness and efficiency in the primary care, clinic, and outpatient setting.

The committee’s members are split evenly between community-based primary care pediatricians and hospital-based VUMC pediatric specialists. The main responsibilities of the committee are to:

  • Foster community and academic partnerships by offering insight that can be used to inform the development and execution of patient-centered and patient-focused research studies
  • Prioritize issues and gaps in care in the community practice and clinic setting and seek to develop studies that address those needs

Current Research Committee Members

Mary Keown, MD, Pediatric Associates of Davidson County

Molly Hood, MD, Pediatric Associates of Franklin

Austin Whitaker, MD, Heritage Medical Associates

Dontal Johnson, MD, Meharry Medical

Kim Buie, MD, MPH, Green Hills Pediatric Associates

Ritu Banerjee, MD, PhD, VUMC Pediatric Infectious Diseases

Bill Heerman, MD, MPH, VUMC General Pediatrics

Elizabeth Williams, MD, MPH, VUMC General Pediatrics

Stephen Patrick, MD, MPH, MS, VUMC Neonatology

Pfizer Products

– Trumenba